Arkansas Association

for Food Protection

Mission Statement
  President's Message
Association Governance
Board Members
  Board Minutes
  Committee Information


Welcome to the site for Arkansas Affiliate of the International Association for Food Protection. Our goal is to provide a local forum to encourage improvement of all areas of food safety and quality; and to increase the knowledge and professional status of our membership in the areas of food safety and quality. Please review the pictures below of our Annual Education Conference that covered emerging food safety issues. Speakers addressed matters in food safety and technology, foodborne pathogen biology and potential opportunities for food systems concepts and veterinarian training.

AAFP Annual Educational Conference: Sept. 8-10, 2015, Chancellor Hotel, 70 N. East Ave., Fayetteville, Ark.
Exhibitor and sponsor registration information (PDF)

Sign up here for the conference

ANNUAL CONFERENCE RECOGNIZED WITH AWARD -- Nancy Gushing (right), president of the Arkansas Association for Food Protection, receives the International Association for Food Protection's award to the chapter for Best Affiliate Overall Meeting. The award recognized the quality of the AAFP 2014 annual educational conference and was presented by Turonda Crumpler, IAFP affiliate council chairperson.
We are proud to announce the dates of Sept. 8-10 (Tuesday to Thursday) for the 2015 Annual Educational Conference hosted by the Arkansas Association for Food Protection (AAFP). We continue to provide one of the top regional conferences in the United States. The Executive Board and Membership of IAFP chose the Arkansas Association for Food Protection to receive the 2015 Best Affiliate Overall Meeting Award. You will be attending a premier food safety conference at a premier location and venue as the AAFP conference will again be at the Chancellor Hotel conference facilities on the beautiful downtown Fayetteville square.

Scenes from the 2014 AAFP conference


About 225 people registered for the 2014 AAFP conference at the Chancellor Hotel in Fayetteville.

baker   sostrin

Adam Baker (third from left) received AAFP’s Michael G. Johnson Graduate Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Food Microbiology Research, Teaching and Peer Mentoring. With him are (from left) Michael Johnson, UA emeritus professor of food science, Steven Ricke, director of the UA Center for Food Safety, and his mother, Karla Baker.


Mike Sostrin of Walmart Stores received the first AAFP Fellow award.

students   vendors
Poster competition participants at AAFP conference.  

Vendors from several companies set up exhibits near the conference.



Speakers from industry, government and several universities addressed emerging issues in food safety during the fifth annual Arkansas Association for Food Protection conference Sept. 11-13, 2014.

See the details of what happened at the 2014 AAFP educational conference

Contribute to the Michael G. Johnson Endowed Fund in Food Science

AAFP has established the Michael G. Johnson Endowed Fund in Food Science at the University of Arkansas in honor of Dr. Michael G. Johnson, emeritus professor of food science. Donors may give to fund online by following these steps:

1. Go to the UA Office of Development online donor site at https://onlinegiving.uark.edu

2. Complete the online donation form. At the drop-down menu for "About My Gift," select the line for "Other Department or Program."

3. In the box for "Other Department or Program," type in "Michael Johnson Endowed Fund in Food Science." Type your donation in the "Gift Amount" box.

4. After completing the information in the "About Me," "About My Spouse" and "About My Employer" categories, go to the "For Memorial/Honorary Gift" category. Under the choice of "This gift is being made:" select "In honor of" and type "Michael Johnson" on the box.

5. Leave blank the line for "Who should we notify of this gift?" The UA Office of Development will notify Dr. Johnson of donations to the fund.

6. Proceed with the credit card donation procedures.

To discuss major contributions, contact office of development for the UA Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences at tbumgar@uark.edu or 479-575-2270.

Home | Contact AAFP | Apply for Membership | Contribute | Research